Monday, November 26, 2007

The Notions of Destiny and Determinism

The initial dissatisfaction many people feel towards determinism may be largely due to their conflating it with a notions of pre-destination, fate, or destiny. I want to take this opportunity to highlight the differences, and so assuage some of the common concerns about freedom & determinism. The key differences are in regard to the 'overall purpose of things', and - most importantly - the impact of individual strivings & contributions to history.

First, the notion of 'purpose'. I simply want to emphasise that determinism has none. Those other quasi-religious notions are all built around the idea of events leading up to some inevitable goal which must be realised no matter what. Determinism, by contrast, has no inherent goals, it's just the way things are. Sure, it means that future states are inevitable given the past states and the laws of nature, but there is no personal driving force behind it all, no God or gods imposing their will upon us hapless mortals. I think that's an important distinction to bear in mind.

Most important of all, of course, is the question of an individual's power to contribute to the shaping of history. According to 'destiny' notions, there is a fixed (divine) goal which will be attained no matter how much we strive against it. Human actions don't make any difference - fate ensures the future will turn out the same no matter what we choose or how we act. The phrase "you can't fight fate" pretty much sums it up.

Our cultural heritage has tied 'determinism' and 'destiny' notions very closely together. This makes it a difficult link to break, though for purely psychological reasons. For hard though it may be for us to see (at first, anyway), the gulf between these notions is vast indeed.

The key difference is that while destiny excludes us from influencing the future, determinism does quite the opposite - in fact, it needs us to shape the future. This is best demonstrated hypothetically: suppose you die in a car crash tomorrow. Now, according to 'destiny' notions (e.g. suppose you are destined to die tomorrow), then even if you avoided cars altogether, fate would nevertheless contrive some way to kill you off. Maybe you'd get struck by lightning, or have a heart attack, whatever. Contrast this with determinism: if (contrary to fact) you had avoided cars altogether, then you would not have died that day at all. Your different actions would cause all sorts of different consequences - perhaps you would go on to cure cancer and live to see 100!

You may think these hypotheticals irrelevant - "what matters is reality, and in reality it's determined that I die in a car crash tomorrow and there's nothing I can do about it!". This complaint sounds plausible, because there is a sense in which it is literally true. But it's also severely mistaken due to a conceptual confusion about the nature of control.

You lack control if your actions lack causal power, i.e. if no matter how you act, the future will not be affected. Hypotheticals are thus central to the notion of control; to assess whether you have control or not, simply look at those (hypothetical) possibilities where you act differently, and see if a different state of affairs results. According to destiny, it won't. But according to determinism, it will.

Your actions determine the future. That is the way to understand determinism without making the all-too-easy mistake of conflating it with destiny notions. It is also the case that "past events determine your actions", but we are in a far worse position to understand the true nature and implications of that proposition, so if you focus on it too much (as people commonly do), then misunderstandings of determinism will inevitably result.

The heart of the matter is that destiny notions deprive us of a place in history. They imply that the same future would result with or without us - they exclude us from the causal chain. Determinism, by contrast, embeds us deeply within the causal chain. Sure, other stuff makes us happen. But then we make things happen. Without us, they would not. If we acted differently, things would turn out differently. Of course it is true that in reality we don't act differently - we act the way we do. But that doesn't mean our actions don't have consequences. It doesn't mean that we are excluded from the causal chain. It doesn't mean that we don't shape history.

It is commonly believed that determinism implies we lack control over our lives. This couldn't be further from the truth. Determinism not only co-exists with personal freedom, but indeed, by embedding us within the causal chain, it provides our freedom.

Friday, November 16, 2007

One Less Life Line, Superman is Still Alive!

So i casually walked away from a deadly accident the other day and while it could have been my last day on earth, i'm very thankful to be here and whole. It's gonna be a while if at all, until i sleep behind the wheel of a moving vehicle.

Remember my post the other day about my half sister? well my buddy was still unable to track down her blog post wherein she wrote about me, so i guess i'll never find out unless i go to London on a search mission. Oyin should be around 17 or 18 now and valentine is probably around 14. I still got the photo of both of them at the park with mom. They were pretty young then.

Hey Oyin, If you're reading this, tell mom that big mom did a great job in raising big bro, and that Big bro turned out very well. I know it's probably hard on her after all these years of separation. Twenty seven years to be exact. Tell her it's ok now and she can stop feeling guilty. The family took up her responsibility and did a great job. The bitterness, depression - i outgrew it all. i don't even remember the last time i felt down over it. There's not the slightest drop of hate in my blood. I have forgiven, but i just cannot forget.

I hope it's working out for you guys. I really do. I know when i come to London, i'll keep my eyes peeled, perhaps i'll run into you haha! I love you guys. We still family.

Off the club now! I've got hundreds waiting for me to come work my magic behind the turntables :)

Wednesday, November 7, 2007

On the Existence of God

In Book 10 of Milton’s “Paradise Lost,” Adam asks the question so many of his descendants have asked: why should the lives of billions be blighted because of a sin he, not they, committed? (“Ah, why should all mankind / For one man’s fault… be condemned?”) He answers himself immediately: “But from me what can proceed, / But all corrupt, both Mind and Will depraved?” Adam’s Original Sin is like an inherited virus. Although those who are born with it are technically innocent of the crime – they did not eat of the forbidden tree – its effects rage in their blood and disorder their actions.
God, of course, could have restored them to spiritual health, but instead, Paul tells us in Romans, he “gave them over” to their “reprobate minds” and to the urging of their depraved wills. Because they are naturally “filled with all unrighteousness,” unrighteous deeds are what they will perform: “fornication, wickedness, covetousness, maliciousness . . . envy, murder . . . deceit, malignity.” “There is none righteous,” Paul declares, “no, not one.”
It follows, then (at least from these assumptions), that the presence of evil in the world cannot be traced back to God, who opened up the possibility of its emergence by granting his creatures free will but is not responsible for what they, in the person of their progenitor Adam, freely chose to do.
What Milton and Paul offer (not as collaborators of course, but as participants in the same tradition) is a solution to the central problem of theodicy – the existence of suffering and evil in a world presided over by an all powerful and benevolent deity. The occurrence of catastrophes natural (hurricanes, droughts, disease) and unnatural (the Holocaust ) always revives the problem and provokes anguished discussion of it. The conviction, held by some, that the problem is intractable leads to the conclusion that there is no God, a conclusion reached gleefully by the authors of books like “The God Delusion,” “God Is Not Great” and “The End of Faith.” (See discussion here, here and here.)
Now two new books (to be published in the coming months) renew the debate. Their authors come from opposite directions – one from theism to agnosticism, the other from atheism to theism – but they meet, or rather cross paths, on the subject of suffering and evil.
Bart D. Ehrman is a professor of religious studies and his book is titled “God’s Problem: How the Bible Fails to Answer Our Most Important Question – Why We Suffer.” A graduate of Princeton Theological Seminary, Ehrman trained to be a scholar of New Testament Studies and a minister. Born-again as a teenager, devoted to the scriptures (he memorized entire books of the New Testament), strenuously devout, he nevertheless lost his faith because, he reports, “I could no longer reconcile the claims of faith with the fact of life . . . I came to the point where I simply could not believe that there is a good and kindly disposed Ruler who is in charge.” “The problem of suffering,” he recalls, “became for me the problem of faith.”
Much of the book is taken up with Ehrman’s examination of biblical passages that once gave him solace, but that now deliver only unanswerable questions: “Given [the] theology of selection – that God had chosen the people of Israel to be in a special relationship with him – what were Ancient Israelite thinkers to suppose when things did not go as planned or expected? . . . . How were they to explain the fact that the people of God suffered from famine, drought, and pestilence?”
Ehrman knows and surveys the standard answers to these questions – God is angry at a sinful, disobedient people; suffering is redemptive, as Christ demonstrated on the cross; evil and suffering exist so that God can make good out of them; suffering induces humility and is an antidote to pride; suffering is a test of faith – but he finds them unpersuasive and as horrible in their way as the events they fail to explain: “If God tortures, maims and murders people just to see how they will react – to see if they will not blame him, when in fact he is to blame – then this does not seem to me to be a God worthy of worship.”
And as for the argument (derived from God’s speech out of the whirlwind in the Book of Job) that God exists on a level far beyond the comprehension of those who complain about his ways, “Doesn’t this view mean that God can maim, torment, and murder at will and not be held accountable? . . . . Does might make right?”
These questions are as old as Epicurus, who gave them canonical form: “Is God willing to prevent evil but not able? Then he is impotent. Is he able but not willing? Then he is malevolent. Is he both able and willing? Whence, then, evil.”
Many books of theology and philosophy have been written in response to Epicurus’s conundrums, but Ehrman’s isn’t one of them. What impels him is not the fascination of intellectual puzzles, but the anguish produced by what he sees when he opens his eyes. “If he could do miracles for his people throughout the Bible, where is he today when your son is killed in a car accident, or your husband gets multiple sclerosis? . . . I just don’t see anything redemptive when Ethiopian babies die of malnutrition.”
The horror of the pain and suffering he instances leads Ehrman to be scornful of those who respond to it with cool abstract analyses: “What I find morally repugnant about such books is that they are so far removed from the actual pain and suffering that takes place in our world.”
He might have been talking about Antony Flew’s “There Is a God: How the World’s Most Notorious Atheist Changed His Mind.” Flew, a noted professor of philosophy, announced in 2004 that after decades of writing essays and books from the vantage point of atheism, he now believes in God. “Changed his mind” is not a casual formulation. Flew wouldn’t call what has happened to him a conversion, for that would suggest something unavailable to analysis. His journey, he tells us, is best viewed as “a pilgrimage of reason,” an extension of his life-long habit of “following the argument no matter where it leads.”
Where it led when he was a schoolboy was to the same place Ehrman arrived at after many years of devout Christian practice: “I was regularly arguing with fellow sixth formers that the idea of a God who is both omnipotent and perfectly good is incompatible with the manifest evils and imperfections of the world.” For much of his philosophical career, Flew continued the argument in debates with a distinguished list of philosophers, scientists, theologians and historians. And then, gradually and to his own great surprise, he found that his decades-long “exploration of the Divine ha[d] after all these years turned from denial to discovery.”
What exactly did he discover? That by interrogating atheism with the same rigor he had directed at theism, he could begin to shake the foundations of that dogmatism. He poses to his former fellow atheists the following question: “What would have to occur or have occurred to constitute for you a reason to at least consider the existence of a superior Mind.” He knows that a cornerstone of the atheist creed is an argument that he himself made many times – the sufficiency of the materialist natural world as an explanation of how things work. “I pointed out,” he recalls, that “even the most complex entities in the universe – human beings – are the products of unconscious physical and mechanical forces.”
But it is precisely the word “unconscious” that, in the end, sends Flew in another direction. How, he asks, do merely physical and mechanical forces – forces without mind, without consciousness – give rise to the world of purposes, thoughts and moral projects? “How can a universe of mindless matter produce beings with intrinsic ends [and] self-replication capabilities?” In short (this is the title of a chapter), “How Did Life Go Live?”
Flew does not deny the explanatory power of materialist thought when the question is how are we to understand the physical causes of this or that event or effect. He’s is just contending that what is explained by materialist thought – the intricate workings of nature – itself demands an explanation, and materialist thought cannot supply it. Scientists, he says, “are dealing with the interaction of chemicals, whereas our questions have to do with how something can be intrinsically purpose-driven and how matter can be managed by symbol processing?” These queries, Flew insists, exist on entirely different levels and the knowledge gained from the first can not be used to illuminate the second.
In an appendix to the book, Abraham Varghese makes Flew’s point with the aid of an everyday example: “To suggest that the computer ‘understands’ what it is doing is like saying that a power line can meditate on the question of free will and determinism or that the chemicals in a test tube can apply the principle of non-contradiction in solving a problem, or that a DVD player understands and enjoys the music it plays.”
How did purposive behavior of the kind we engage in all the time – understanding, meditating, enjoying – ever emerge from electrons and chemical elements?
The usual origin-of-life theories, Flew observes, are caught in an infinite regress that can only be stopped by an arbitrary statement of the kind he himself used to make: “ . . . our knowledge of the universe must stop with the big bang, which is to be seen as the ultimate fact.” Or, “The laws of physics are ‘lawless laws’ that arise from the void – end of discussion.” He is now persuaded that such pronouncements beg the crucial question – why is there something rather than nothing? – a question to which he replies with the very proposition he argued against for most of his life: “The only satisfactory explanation for the origin of such ‘end-directed, self-replicating’ life as we see on earth is an infinitely intelligent Mind.”
Will Ehrman be moved to reconsider his present position and reconvert if he reads Flew’s book? Not likely, because Flew remains throughout in the intellectual posture Ehrman finds so arid. Flew assures his readers that he “has had no connection with any of the revealed religions,” and no “personal experience of God or any experience that may be called supernatural or religious.” Nor does he tells us in this book of any experience of the pain and suffering that haunts Ehrman’s every sentence.
Where Ehrman begins and ends with the problem of evil, Flew only says that it is a question that “must be faced,” but he is not going to face it in this book because he has been concerned with the prior “question of God’s existence.” Answering that question affirmatively leaves the other still open (one could always sever the Godly attributes of power and benevolence, and argue that the absence of the second does not tell against the reality of the first).
Flew is for the moment satisfied with the intellectual progress he has been able to make. Ehrman is satisfied with nothing, and the passion and indignation he feels at the manifest inequities of the world are not diminished in the slightest when he writes his last word.
Is there a conclusion to be drawn from these two books, at once so similar in their concerns and so different in their ways of addressing them? Does one or the other persuade?
Perhaps an individual reader of either will have his or her mind changed, but their chief value is that together they testify to the continuing vitality and significance of their shared subject. Both are serious inquiries into matters that have been discussed and debated by sincere and learned persons for many centuries. The project is an old one, but these authors pursue it with an energy and goodwill that invite further conversation with sympathetic and unsympathetic readers alike.
In short, these books neither trivialize their subject nor demonize those who have a different view of it, which is more than can be said for the efforts of those fashionable atheist writers whose major form of argument would seem to be ridicule.
(In an article published Sunday — November 4 — in the New York Times Magazine, Mark Oppenheimer more than suggests that Flew, now in his 80’s, did not write the book that bears his name, but allowed Roy Varghese (listed as co-editor) to compile it from the philosopher’s previous writings and some extended conversations. Whatever the truth is about the authorship of the book, the relation of its argument and trajectory to the argument and trajectory of Ehrman’s book stands.)

Tuesday, October 16, 2007

Motivated Again

It's been a minute! i guess i had nothing inspiring to say. I've not been really busy per say over the last month, but just been living the same old cycle.

I spent the entire day at work solving all sorts of mensa puzzles and ended up not doing any work. it's like i've finally ran out of challenges at work. undoubtful, outside of the likes of microsoft and google, this remains perhaps a programmer's heaven, but it's looking like i might be moving on soon.

I just found out from a friend there possibly could be a close blood relative of mine out there that i'm not aware of. Apparently she's aware of my existence. My friend tried hard to recollect the source, but no luck. At least he promised giving it another shot in tracking it down.

overcome with instant restlessness, i suspended all activities and dashed for my laptop. I spent close to one hour googling every bit of hint my friend referenced earlier but came up empty. By now i'm feeling a bit sorry and depressed. could she possibly be my blood sister?

to be continued...

Wednesday, September 12, 2007

Goodies for the Music Hunter

I know most of you guys probably already bought the kanye cd, that's def money well spent. He's kicking 50's ass right now in Album sales. For those of you that have'nt heard it, i've included a download link to the kanye west graduation album.
Kanye Album

Also included is Collie Buddz Album.

For those of you that like conscious reggae and ganja man tunes here's a mellow mix for you. Reggae Mix


if you 're having difficulties extracting the files, pls do not hesitate to holla @ me so i tell u what you need to do. i'm sure you'll figure it out.

Don't forget you can also log on to djmightymike.imeem.com to listen to all my mixes without having to download to your pc. I wanna say big thank you to those of you that bought the Naija HipHop - Takeover Mixtape. For those that would like to have a fully packaged and track cd version, get yours here

Ok that's it for now, got a crapload of work to do but i'll be back soon.

Tracklisting for conscious reggae mix
1.don't haffi dread - morgan heritage
2.blind to you - collie buddz
3.If Jah - Tony Rebel
4.all about the weed - chuck fender
5.fight we - fentoh mojah
6.picture of selasie - khari kill
7.youths dem cold - richie spice
8.lucky you - Nanko
9.frenzy - sanchez
10.plead my cause -junior X
11.Teach the children
12.Bring it on - Gyptian
13.Lots of sign - Tenor Saw (RIP)
14.Black Rose - Barrington Levy
15.Murdee Stylee - Sister Carol
16.Over the ocean - Barrington Levy ft Mega Banton
17.Gash Dem - Chuck Fendah
18.serious times - Gyptian
19.put down the weapon - Capleton ft.Yami Bolo
20.Jah Blessing - Luciano & Sizzla
21.Murderer - Buju Banton
22.Victory Train - Tenor Saw

Wednesday, September 5, 2007

Haha! Just Friends...

lol! Never saw this coming but i think i'm growing fond of her. Long ass phone calls, every second to savor. The first one ever to make me do back flips when she called the first time. But i'm not getting ahead of myself just yet. It doesn't make sense anyways, She's jetting out soon and probably will never find out unless i crack. haha! goodluck. Why disturb the calm? i enjoy our friendship. i'd rather remain anonymous and let things play out - if anything. It's better that way. Besides, I've got a lot keeping me occupied, so i don't get brain cramps from thinking of her too much. I keep on keeping on.

Wednesday, August 29, 2007

Just Wanted to Say Thank You!

It's been a while since i last posted. I have'nt forgotten you, just been extremely busy with several things; The Naija Mixtape, My job, social engineering, promo and marketing for my mixtape amongst a list of other engagements.

I finally released the final version of my naija mixtape on August 3 and have since then been busy with marketing.




I must admit - i didnt expect to sell more than 50 copies of the cd, but till date i have managed to sell 209 units via my myspace page.

it's so unreal! not that i do not have faith in my work cos i really do, but the amount of support i received was very inspiring. I remember a supporter telling me she had never felt so hyped up about Nigerian HipHop Prior to listening to the mixtape. I guess we as the DJs, The Marketers, Promoters, Managers need to put in more work towards spreading the word. A new Renaissance has begun in Naija HipHop.

I just want to take this time to say thank you to everyone that has bought the mixcd. I've been taking trips to the post office very often nowadays, even the folks that work there now know me by my name. I hope you enjoyed the compilation, and most importantly it increased your love for Nigerian HipHop - Our HipHop.

Thanks to the Promoters for playing a major role in my success, making "DJ MightyMike" a household name here in atlanta within a rather short period of time, most notably my good friends Dare and Jide at Dejavu Ent, We3ent, Tiwa Works, Rising Sun and the rest. Always a pleasure doing business. Special thanks to the fans that have always come out to my events, those that continue to cheer me on even when i was'nt at my very best, those that helped me get giggs thru referral. My 2 yrs in Atlanta has been a blessing for my DJing Career. Thank You!

Monday, July 30, 2007

Your Boy is Back!

Yeh mehn! it's been over a month. Too many things to split my time between, and blogging was the least. Although i didnt forget about you guys. matter of fact i'm gonna spend the rest of my evening catching up on your blogs. I'm sure Mr fineboy has posted some thing funny as hell as usual.

Anyways, i caught throat strep mehn, and to make matters worse i was taking taking off the shelf cold medicine thinking i had common cold. The fever was persistent, so i finally went to the hospital. The doc (a woman looking like in her late 30s) came in, checked me out and told me what it was. she then assured me i'll be fine with the prescriptions. The funny thing was when i asked her how the hell a super health freak like me could catch throat strep, she started going on and on with examples, and you will not believe one of the examples she listed..
This doctor is one hell of a freak. she must have got turned on by just mere asking that question. Apparently you can catch strep from eating pork (no not that poultry pork! the other pork lol).

wow! i just laughed and maintained silence like nothing happened.

Several other things happened while i was AWOL. I DJ'ed at the dejavu Nigerian reunion held in Houston. That was a fun wkend! we did our thing, and i made more friends.


I've been in the trenches working on my second Nigerian HipHop Mixtape. I released an unofficial version a while back, but i went back and made a revision and so now it's ready for commercial release. Target release date is August 3 at club queens here in the ATL. My dream is that the Nigerian HipHop Market will get big enough in Yankee up to the point where people will actually start buying cds instead of finding ways to download it for free. We need to show love to our artists for the great music they continue to put out. Artists gotta eat too. Abeg show some love. no be small ting!

July has been the brokest month in my life, I've been saving like crazy. i'm gonna go back to naija one day to open a small start up business along the line of software development and training. I have'nt gone back home in over 8yrs and so this year, i have made it a high priority to return to my roots. I still miss Naija despite the Mosquitoes, NEPA and other BS going on. Things are really messed up right now, Bad enuff to shed tears over.

I met one chic that wanted more. I think i was a little too brutally honest with her though. fine and all, but she was just too young. Different levels, it just would'nt work. We stopped talking, but at least i did'nt tag her along knowing it was'nt going nowhere. I kept it real. No long ting!.

My momsy's birthday is on Wednesday. I love her to death, i can't even count my gizzillion reasons why. Old lady bursted her ass for me and my siblings all her life. I miss her cooking too. God Bless her.

Speaking of cooking, i need to holla at Bukky and my other chefs mehn. I cooked stew yesterday, but before it came time to add meat to the soup, i had already ate half of the meat. That shit was so good i could'nt resist. it's better to bake your meat instead of boiling it before adding to the soup. it just has a different taste to it.

Ok i'm heading off from work now, it's been a rather stress free monday, minus the sneezing that kept bugging me. yep! i caught allergies again. Enemies no gree me rest. I think i'm just goin take it easy this evening, perhaps chill on the couch with a bowl of indomie noodles while watching ESPN and reading your blogs. but knowing who i am, i might end up in the studio right next to my decks, with a C++ book lying just a few inches away.

Have yourself a pleasant evening.

Tuesday, June 26, 2007

MightyMike Presents Naija DJs - The Takeover Mixtape

Finally it's here!
Big shoutout to my brothers and sisters from another mother - Naija DJS and to you our fans that continue to give us inspiration to do this. Thank You.

Download Link 1
Download Link 2
Download Link 3

1. Intro (Naija DJs -We Taking Over)
2. Ebutte Meta (Umbrella Freestyle) - Banky W (www.myspace.com/banky)
3. Stylee - DJ Jimmy Jatt ft. Mode 9, Tuface, Elajoe
4. Naughty Girl - Zaina ft. Zara (www.Myspace.com/MsZaina)
5. Naija DJS - K Dogg
6. Make Dem Burn - K Dogg (www.myspace.com/Oksoundz)
7. Booty - D'Banj
8. Talent dey Waste - 9ice ft. Lord of Ajasa (www.myspace.com/9ice)
9. Iwo ni - Da Trybe
10.Oyinlomo - Oladele (www.Myspace.com/Oladele)
11.Obodo - Nigga RAW ft. Klint D' Drunk
12.Sugar Mommy - Millionaire Boyz (www.Myspace.com/MillionaireBoyz)
13.Na Today (Rmx) - K Dogg ft. Komo
14.Oya Ijo ya - Alexzy ft. T.Money (www.Myspace.com/PoshProduction)
15.This is Life - African Kings(www.Myspace.com/AcidEntertainment)
16.Ekabor - Oga Gee (www.Myspace.com/OgaGee)
17.Wind Waist - Syndicate
18.Club Rugged - Rugged Man
19.Hold Yourself - Nasty & jayed Out (www.myspace.com/jayedoutt)
20.Yahooze - Olu Maintain
21.Little Money - 9ice
22.Sunshine - Zara ft. Emerald (www.Myspace.com/zwagger)
23.Knocking - Keno (www.whoiskeno.com)

Enjoy!


Your's Truly
MightyMike
Visit Naija DJs online
MightyMike's Myspace Page

now I can shift focus back on C++ haha..

Thursday, June 21, 2007

Catch Up Time, Naija DJs Party, Oladele Album Release, Goodies for you

Thanks guys for all your comments. As you can see i've been off blogger for a while now. I have so many projects i'm currently working on. Aside from my 9-5, i'm currently working on my 2nd Naija HipHop Mixtape - The Naija DJs Takeover, scheduled for commerical release on June 28th. It looks like people enjoyed the first one, so i decided to do a followup. This one comprises of the latest gbedu and it features your favorite Naija HipHop Artists. I will surely let you guys know when it drops and how you can go about downloading your copy.

Naija DJS (Myspace.com/naijadjs) held their first party in Maryland on June 16th 2007.



It was an opportunity for us to get together and do something for our fans. The turnout was good and it was a success overall. We're already planning the next event. Big thanks to all you guys that came to support us. You're our inspiration.

Have You heard? RAZZ is now the New Cool mehn!
One of Nigerian HipHop's Brightest artists Oladele makes his debut with the highly anticipated album "Razz is the new cool"



When you are a part of the group accredited for revolutionizing the hiphop scene in Nigeria, the expections don't come any higher. The average eMCee would fold under such pressure, but, OlaDELe is no average eMCee. With quips such as "He equals your regular eMCee squared (E=MC2)...rap's albert einstein" it is easy to see why he is not to be overlooked. It's been 3 years since he stepped out onto the Naija music scene as DEL, a member of the hiphop group Da Trybe. And now that he makes a re-entry onto the scene with his debut solo album "Razz is the new cool" due out on June 29th, you will come to realize it is not only his name that has gone through some change, but also the man and the music.

With stellar cuts like "Oyinlomo", "You Like it", and "Spray me Money" - tracks already enjoying major play and favoritism among Naija HipHop heads, 2007 is shaping up to be DEL's official coming out party. Release is scheduled for June 29th. Please support our Naija Artists.

For more info on OlaDELe, visit myspace.com/oladele.

On a side note, i have a lil present for you guys that enjoy Dancehall/Island music. Blackchiney Megablast Mix is a sucker free compilation comprising of fresh new tracks currently jammin in clubs or yet to be released.
Check it out and feel free to drop comments and feedbacks. You guys are my inspiration.

Here are the download links:
download link 1
download link 2

Feel free to let me know if the links blow up or get used
up so i can reUp.

Ok i have to run back to work..so much sturves to do mehn, but at least i'm having fun while at it, so notin spoil.

Anyways Take good care guys. if someting do you, then someting do me, but if notin do you, then notin do me. Keep that naija swagger alive. i'll surely be back.

Track Listing
1. Wild Out - Collie Budz
2. Reverse the thing - Beenie Man
3. No Boring gyal - Assassin
4. Brrt - Bunji Garlin
5. One Family - Bunji Garlin
6. Chatt to Mi Back - Lady Saw
7. I Dare You - Destra
8. Agua - Edwin Yearwood
9. Born fa dis - Mr. Dale
10. Woman By My Side - Peter Ram
11. Blaze It Up - Bunji Garlin
12. Hot Wuk - Mr Vegas
13. Hot Wuk (Soca remix) - Mr. Vegas
14. Gun Dem ah count - Assassin
15. Bloodshed - Lindo P
16. Mr Palmer - Movado
17. Mek Dem RIP - Mr Vegas
18. Bun Out Dem - Notch
19. Mofrando - Vybz Kartel (Dissin movado)
20. Top Shotta - Movado
21. We Love the Girls - Assassin
22. Big Man Thing - Assassin ft. Mr Easy
23. Drop Dead - Elephant Man
24. Amazing Grace - Movado
25. Watch Then Roll - Sean Paul
26. Carnival Symphony - Kimberly Inniss
27. Can'ts Stop Loving Jah - Richie Spice
28. Dying - Movado
29. Love You Right - Morgan Heritage
30. Naija DJs Outro - KDogg (Myspace.com/oksoundz)

Your's Truly
MightyMike (Naija DJs)
Check out Naija DJs online at Myspace.com/naijadjs

Tuesday, June 5, 2007

A Childhood Tale...

Hello blogland, how una dey? so far so good i hope. mehn i don't even know where to begin. I've been tied up lately. My company is about to release a service pack for one of our major software products, so i've been deep in the trenches. But no shaking tho, soon as we release and i come back from vacation, i will get back to updating more often.

Anyways, there i was the other day reading random blogs and i got to thinking about how much blogging has suddenly become the new thing. I suppose people hardly keep dairies anymore unlike back in the days long before the internet blew up and the whole blogging idea was yet to be conceived.

I once kept a daily journal too, back in my teen years - around age 16 or so. Mehn that dairy was str8 up raw. it was filled with secrets, child's play encounters, confessions and thoughts str8 up from the heart. it was the kind of diary you wouldnt want your momsy to find, otherwise serious yawa fit gas.

well unluckily for me, keeping a dairy proved to be a not so great idea as my momsy stumbled across it one day and got to read the entire jist. Mehn! up till today i still have no idea how on tha earth she managed to sniff it out. That thing was well hidden inside a mattress that had a zipper. Perhaps it was my lil sister that tipped momsy off perhaps after i had refused to settle her a bribe to hush or something.

Anyways, momsy got to read the entire jist, including this lil encounter i had with this calabar babe (Eliza) that used to be my neighbor at that time. Mehn that elieza chick was some kinky babe for real. She and i were playing that mother and father game and je-je-ly, one thing led to another.

After momsy finished dropping yabs on me, she tied her wrapper and went knocking on my neighbor's gates o lol..

"oh heeeell no"!

You see, back then i was a local champion in the area, me and my boys used to run things, tripping babes, rocking latest baffs with crests lol..(remember back when nautica, polo, Santros boots etc were hot on the streets), hanging at Big Boy joints (Zoeys, Tantalizers, Allen Ave..)and all that fun stuffs..we were cool like that. so as you can see, there was a lot at stake as per reputation levels.

Momsy was tripping real hard mehn..telling my nieghbor's uncle to watch the babe cos she don't want nobody getting preggy lol..

come and see as busy body(s) came out to watch live TNT drama unfold as momsy began reading the diary out loud to the man, including everyone that cared to listen, detailing how the steamy mommy and daddy encounter went down.

"chei! na me be dis? why me lord?"

I had to go into exile for like 2wks after all the embarassment and my movement was limited to night time in order to avoid been seen as much as possible.

That was the last time i kept a diary. Only God knows what became of that journal. perhaps it's on ebay. i would pay major bucks to have it back if i could. i went thru my share of teen life crisis.

Anyways so there you have it, the biggest, most scandalous yab of my life.

yesterday i hung out with this really really fine ngbeke (babe) originally from Alabama. Sherice, I met her while Spinning at hotel 12 @ atlantic station. she had on this sexy white dress that made it hard for any real man to not notice her unless of course the guy nah adodi (gay). Mehn this girl was looking so fine, she stood about 5''4, on the slim side,130-ish or so. she had nice long legs, shinny dark brown eyes, and her smile was to die for. i had to drop my equipment in the middle of the hotel lobby to go holla mehn. Now usually i don't put too much energy into yankee babes, i mean they cool and stuff but i already know it aint goin go too far so why waste people's time. gimme a sexy well mannered naija babe anyday and i'm good to go, but this yankee babe was just too much. I just sincerly told her how gorgeous she looked and asked if i could call her sometime or something. she dropped her digits. Yes! Yes! lol..

As she was storing her number in my phone, i was using style to scrutinize her very well just to make sure she wasnt no under cover dude. You can never be too sure nowadays in ATL. These undercover brothers are getting very advanced and high tech. Like oil and water, two dicks don't mix. i would hate to find out in the worse way i've been dealing with a dude all these while. Things could get ugly. I scanned for breasts, hips, her chin structure, and shoulders to be sure. Notin appeared fishy. I did'nt even bother to check her trunk cos that is no longer a reliable check.

I called her the following day and we talked for a bit cos i was in a hurry to go take care of some side bizness as usual. She then text me on monday, asking if i wanted to hang out after work. Heeell yeah! i did my customary back flips and got ready in like 10mins. we agreed to meet at the perimeter mall.

The babe pulled up in a nice looking purple mustang with some Ds (chrome wheels) on it. Gad Damn! she looked even more stunning. She had on a sexy brown outfit and also dyed the top part of her hair brown too, looking as fine as halle berry. Mehn i no go lie, i was a bit intimidated by her looks. ehn heh! na me dey chill with this fine kele like say i be derek jeter? lol..no danger! MairryMike got this.

She took me to this sports bar opposite of the perimeter mall..i forgot the name of the joint but it was nice sha. she ordered coke and i got me a Long island to start. The babe was down to earth mehn! she was'nt even stuck up one bit, she was just cool and str8 forward. The convo was free flowing, i cracked a few naija jokes here and there to keep things lively. we talked about random stuffs i.e. sports, some stuffs we saw on cnn about some dude that conducted a mass suicide, living the single life in the atl and how much fun it could sometimes be, her job etc.. come to find out she actually worked in sales. I joked with her i would open a car dealership and she can come work for me cos i was confident she could sell all the cars in just one day using her looks as a major selling weapon..haha.. she just laughed it off. Really humble babe mehn
Nah this kind babes me i like to dey hang with, unlike some other stuck up ones wey like to do yanga 24/7 like say dem no dey mess lol..it beats me.
But sha, chilling with a sexy babe with brains and a great personality is always awesome mehn..

it was a nice dinner. The food was good and it was unbelievably cheap too. $34 + tips, and that also included dessert. wow! Can u imagine?
she asked me to call her again sha so we could hang out more. best believe i will surely call. i was even tempted to ask her if i could take her picture sef to come use do shakara for your guys so una go see levels lmao..but as a big boy, i just maintain. Maybe next time.

Anyways sha, i plan to enjoy this summer o! i must have major fun. I got sturves planned with some friends. I plan to hit maryland, houston, maybe dallas, and back to NYC for sure to chill with my homeboys, MightyMike fans and groupies.

I'm also working on my second naija commerical mixcd. it's been a minute since i last dropped and my fans have been asking me when i'm dropping again. Very soon guys, very soon.

I saw Eldee the champion in traffic the other day on my way back from work. I was dozing off behind the wheel cos traffic was really slow and your boy was kinda tired. Eldee had to call my phone to to wake my ass up yo lol..he was right next to me mehn. That shit was funny. Speaking of eldee, they did the launching of Mile 2 entertainment last saturday and it was a success. Thanks to all those that came out to support. Good luck with mile 2 mehn. Check out their site at www.mile2ent.com. i think the site is still under development but be sure to stop there often to see what dem boys are up to. Big things ah gwaan..

ok sha..make i do small work. Your boy is highly overpaid and hardly gets work to do. My manager has promised to give me more side responsibilities sha, so that's good news. 24/7 hustler lomor. Me sef go like to dey bank 6 figures someday, especially when i turn to family guy. All those diapers and baby food cost money mehn.

ight blogland, i go try keep this blog fresh. i got a date with another fine babe today sef, so i might bounce from the office early haha..wetin man go do?
Take care of yourself guys. One luv.

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

Memorial Day Wkend, My House Party, Random Updates...

Yes o! your boy don come again, Notin dey par! Anything wey par nah winsh. No le le! I've been away for a minute, working on this new product feature at work and also busy doin giggs all memorial day wkend, plus my house party. I DJ'ed at Dejavu Ent's Pre Naija Reunion Party last friday and the club was packed like crazy. The athmosphere was filled with sheer energy. People screaming with excitement, Repping their city, and jumping up and down as i dropped their favorite anthems. They were very coorperative too whevener i got on the mic. The stars were out too. Keno did his thing and both eldee and Del did a surprise live performance of "Naija Boy". It was a great night mehn. As a DJ, i was humbled seeing all the excitement. People dey hail me left and right as i dropped hits after hits...I was in the zone mehn, feelin it. This is what it's all about. This is why i practise till 1am in the morning despite having to be at work the same day.

On a sad note though, that very same day was s'posed to be Naira's (http://www.myspace.com/prolyfikmusicwerks) album release party but she could'nt make it because of the unutimely passing of her momsy. Please have Naira in your prayers as she goes through this difficult time.

At 4am in the morning the dancefloor was so full, you'd think we just got started. After rocking for over five hours and giving the crowd their money's worth, i handed over the headphones to DJ fly to round up the night and get some shine time too. I was spent, and my voice got a lil hoarse from all the screaming. I could use some fresh air and maybe get a dance or two.





I was outside in the parking lot chilling with some babes, and then all of a sudden we heard a loud bang..

Gbooom!

it was so loud, one of the babes i was chatting with sitting on top my trunk flew up so high in the air and quickly ran to a far corner. Some American Guy hit someone else's vehicle as he tried to reverse full speed into a parking spot.

Ye Ye guy. It turned out the truck he was driving was a rental lol.. Major kasala.

Anyways, it was about time to head home and as i was rounding up my convo with the babes, this zambian chic walks up and struck a random convo. She was drunk, so she was'nt making too much sense. Nah so the kele begin dey harrass us, asking if we were from naija and sturve.. Anyways, the babes got tired of her jist and just bounced. After they left, this zambian babe hold me hostage. she no gree make i go o. she even let herself into my car without my persmission. This babe get liver o. If i was feelin her like that, i might have gone to gbensh the babe, but the cigarette and beer breath was a major turnoff. She started going on an on about her akata boyfriend and how he cheated on her and sturve.. Poor girl. Anyways i managed to find a random lucky guy to hook her up with and i just bounced.

On Saturday, I DJ'ed at a naija wedding. I'm gonna have photos up soon.
During the wedding, i had some minor techinical difficulties with my laptop and it affected my serato DJ'ing software. If not for my proactiveness, that glitch would have potentially ruined the entire wedding program schedule. Imagine if that happened, mehn the bride will rip my head off for real!. There was silence for close to 1 minute. I had to do a system restore to get my PC back to working state. Pheew! Up Nepa!

Anyways, the wedding turned out a success. The groom's popsy even sprayed me money as i dey spin correct gbedu like Ayefele, King Sunny Ade, and no it wasnt no $1 bill, the baba made it rain in $20s. I was $800 richer at the end of the night and all the business cards i placed on the table were gone.

The following day (sunday) was my house warming party. Two of my friends bukky and tope got to my house early momo to cook food for the party. The menu included jollof rice, fried rice, fried meat, chicken, dodo, moimoi and some other sturves...great cooking skills on display mehn. People still dey talk about the food sef. Dolly dear, you brought me gizzard and i'm just now finding out days later :( . bukky just told me about it during a random convo. ehya! it must have tasted so good, my friends wacked it b4 i got a chance to even see it. I know it's very late, but here's my special thank you! that was very thoughtful of you. I owe you one :) .

The party was fun mehn (vidoes coming soon) and i didnt even DJ! can u imagine? I had random friends get on the turntable to spin gbedu. After a lil coaching from the gbedu master, they quickly got up and running and did a great job filling in for me.



Big ups to nigeriapolitricks (http://www.nigeriapolitricks.blogspot.com) for comimg thru. I'm patiently waiting for the party videos haha..That guy nah big dawg sha. Bros, i hail o..

Anyways if ya'll need a bank loan or sontin like that, berra holla at him. jus make sure say your credit good small..haha!

The last person left the crib around 11:30p. I was tired as hell, but still had one more gigg to do - We3ent's Decades Old skool party. I got there around 1:30a and DJ daps was already rocking the spot. The original plan was for me to get behind the decks later on that night, but hooking up to the club's system was becoming a major obstacle so i just chilled and let Daps rock the whole night. Overall, it was a fun party and some folks came dressed up in their old skool outfit.





I woke up on memorial day at 5:30p. Geez! i slept for that long? must have been really knocked out. I jus spent the entire day restoring the crib and basically chilling. There's work the following day.

i'd like to say a big thank you to everyone that came thru. My friends on naijaryders.com, fellow bloggers, my friends on facebook, friends that came with my friends, special thanks to bukki and tope for hooking up the food, my kenessaw connections (bola and co).. You guys made my memorial day wkend a fabulous one and i truly appreciate it from the bottom of my heart. Thank you so much, you guys Rock!

Here's a snapshot of my crib..it's still a work in progress as per decorating and sturves, but small small it'll get there. Oya book me for your party so i can have money to furnish am nau lol..

All glory be to God.

Thursday, May 17, 2007

The Day I Got Fired

It's lunch breaks guys, so that that means i get to blog. God knows when next I'll get free time to lavish.

I was sitting down uploading my rice and chicken i bought from North point mall and decided to log on to naijaryders.com to relate with my brothers and sisters from another mother. Mehn those guys are useless sha. Funny threads all over, People clowning up on one another. I love every single one of em tho, they're like second family. Notin do dem.

If you get bored at work once in a while like most of us do and need to get a laugh every now and then, log on to www.naijaryders.com and get familiar.

Anyways so while browsing, i came across a thread wherein the thread starter mentions a friend of his getting fired from an old job.

Loosing your job can be really stressful mehn. Man must wack, bills dey pile up, even sef people back home dey flash you to send dough. if you come be young bubbly bobo like me nko, you go wan trip babes every once in a while and flenjure on wkends.

With no cash flow, things can get ugly pretty quick.

I've been fired b4. That was back was when i was making $12/hr working as tech support specialist for cablevision's highspeed internet service. It was my first job after college. Coming out from a top engineering university, i had high hopes - at least 50k to start. Basically I wasnt too happy but that was what i could get at that time plus i didnt want to move an inch out of NYC for work.

No Yawa! Hopefully i can work my way up to their software development team within a few months. I quickly became one of the top tech support guys after like 2 months. Then i went to the software development team and even told them i'd work for free just so they could get an idea of my programming skills.

To cut the long story short, they hated on me sha. After like 3months of abuse on the phone from irate customers; people cursing my mother over the phone because their internet quit working, I snapped oneday and just walked out the building. I dint even shut down my station, did'nt even log out. i just left mehn. I couldnt take it no more. My boys thought i was crazy. You had to be.

Luckily sha i had saved enuff dough to last me prolly a month or so. I started looking for job 24/7, emailing out custom cover letters and resumes like say i be UPS guy. Free time was dedicated to sharpening my skill set even more. I turned down many jobs along the way sha, most were high paying, but i still had'nt found what i wanted. I even remember one that asked me to come down to manhattan for an interview. I went there in nice shinny suit thinking it was a real interview only to arrive for the guy to start preaching to me i enroll in their IT certification program so that i could increase my chances of getting work.

I took a deep breath, analyzing all the horse shit wey the guy just yarn...

Me thinking out loud: [ok so I go college to burst my ass for 4 yrs, school loan and all...I come graduate with BS in computer Engineering and some yeye guy dey follow me yarn rubbish say make i come enroll in cisco networking program]

mehn come see anger and frustration, i was so mad ehn! nah small remain make i whoz the guy. Why he no yarn me all this nonsense over the phone? instead of deceiving me with fake interview.

God Dey sha. Aluta Continua!

Anyways one fateful day i got a phone call from Georgia, and after the first phone interview, they asked if i wanted to take a free trip down south for a one on one.

ATL had a lot of hype at that time. I decided to pursue the opportunity, and of course your boy aced the interview. They went further, presenting an offer good enuff to drag me outta NYC. The rest is history.

FYI, that guy that got fired actually ended up getting work elsewhere. He even got a 20k or so pay increase.

Sometimes we are in a situation we really don't like that much, but we settle, mainly because of fear of the unknown.

One thing that separates the happy, successful and accomplished people from the Average joes is confidence & willingness to take risks.

Ok back to work. No long ting today. I even learnt some cool stuff today @ work sef. Self motivation is nice to have.

I leave you with a funny naija video i found on naijaRyders.com. I thought it was hilarious. Chei! lol..only in Naija!

Monday, May 14, 2007

First time in a Tiddie Bar

My Blogland peeps, which level? mehn it appears your boy has been reduced to a 2-3times/wk blogger. Make una no vex ehn! no condition is permanent.
My weekend was busy and it was fun too. Before i forget, Goodluck to you if you got exams coming up and if you've already finished, then i pray make the lord touch the professor's heart to give you good grade. Amen! Dont forget to wear dark shades to the examination. You just never know if you might need to stretch your neck small and eyeball sontin. Ahhh!..sidon there dey do holy holy. Heaven help those who help themselves o.

Also i'd like to say my congrats to all the class of '07 graduates. I wish you all a successful post college life. May Bill collectors, lack of job, and all that post college stress not be your portion in jesus name. You should be proud of yourself mehn! no be small thing. More grease to your elbows. Una dey make me remember long long time ago in 2004 when me sef just graduate. It's a feeling of accomplishment. Welcome to the real world sha.

Anyways last wkend was fun! i partied all friday night, then on saturday i DJ'ed at a friend's graduation parry and also got to hang out with my padi padi DJ Dee Money from the super fresh crew Naija DJs.

The graduation parry was fun o. Mehn! Come see babes! Some of them even begin cheer me as i dey drop correct gbedu after gbedu. Me sef come begin dey catch feelings like say i be Rockstar. hahaha! MightyMike in da house! Notin do me. Even Eldee the champion, Del and Toks came thru. it was a bubbly nite.

The girls even sent me home with a nice load of jollof rice, moi moi, fried chicken, etc...That one should last me like a week or so. I spent sunday getting fit and watching soccer; English Premier league, Italian Serie A, etc. Manchester United are the league champs for this season. Mehn i love soccer. i used to be very current back in naija. I even remember playing monkey post back in Primary and Secondary School. Good times Mehn! Good Times...

That passion sorta died down since i moved to yankee almost a decade ago. I think it's cos i hardly had the opportunity to see the games, plus yankee does'nt even give a rat's ass about soccer anyways. Yankee soccer team full of OTUs

OTU:
noun
used to refer to one that really sucks in a particular sport.

i'm regaining my enthusiasm for the sport sha, i even subscribed to premium dish service just cos of Fox Soccer Channel. Mehn imagine if the naija babe i end up marrying loved soccer too, that would be a jackpot o. we could both watch the games together, cheering and sturve and live happily ever after. I should put in prayer request next sunday...

i even got some small gist for you guys sef. At first i wasnt gonna post , but on a second thought, i felt it was quite a milestone in my twenty something doggy dogg years in life. A "Right of Passage" if you will.

See, one of my Padi Padis from NYC "Dough boy" came down to atlanta for work and pleasure, so we decided to link up.

Original smooth operator, this guy fit scope any babe mehn. During our time for college, nah the guy dey arrange babes come our town house sef. I even dey take style take mental notes of his toasting style cos believe it or not, i still sometimes choke when trying to scope babes. I just start stammering all of a sudden. I no understand. i've sought help from everywhere you could possibly imagine. I even put in prayer request at church, and still, your boy still dey stammer jejely for fine babes.

My therapist thinks it's Anxiety. I'm working on it sha. Hot babes can get your equilibrium screwed up sometimes mehn. I dont think it's my confidence tho. i'm a pretty confident dude, It's not easy being MightyMike lol... I think with experience, i too will get to dough boy's level someday.

It's funny though, cos upon all the stammering and fumbling of words, the babes still remain responsive and don't seem to mind. I tell them i have a strange stammering problem and that it only happens when i'm conversing with fine babes.
Nah so them go just begin chuckle like say i dey tickle dem for under their feet. I dont get it. I guess notin do me.

Anyways so back to Dough Boy. He called and said he wanted to catch some fun that night.

Dough Boy: Miighty! Miiighty! MightyMiiiike!...
Me: Aaay! Abeg who be dis? [Homeboy has since changed his phone number]
Dough Boy: Nah Francis Mehn..
Me: Aaaay! Dooooough Boooy! Longest time mehn. How far na? Na your new number be this?
Dough Boy: Yeh mehn! i'm gonna be here for a few days for work...Miiiighty [hailing continues..]

Dough Boy: omo dokun [Another padi padi] tell me say nah you dey run things for ATL, wetin dey go on tonite?

It's a thursday and there's work the next day, but as a born ready naija boy, i thought "no danger!", we could hit buckhead to see what's popping. He mentioned he had been hearing great stories about ATL and the chics with correct apple bottom, so i guess he wanted to experience the hype.

I decided to take dough boy down to this club in buckhead. it's called frequency. After paying $5 for parking, we got to the club and nah so the guys for front entrance begin dey misyarn

Front entrance Guy: The club aint open yet fellas..
Me: Haba! At 10.30pm?
Front Entrance Guy: Yeh, We're still waitig for the DJ for tonight...
Me: Wow! Aight cool! we'll just hang around...

which kind yeye club be dis? DJ has'nt showed up at 10:30p. Which kind Toy DJ be dat?

That was def not a good look, especially with an out-of-towner next to you and all that ATL club hyping i did while we were driving.

No Shaking tho! time for plan B.

Doughboy had been going crazy all night long about apple bottom, so we decided well, how about we check out a Strip Joint. ATL is known for it strips clubs. I called my partner in crime Kenny G - real funny naija dude, he's like a yellow page when it come to Tiddie bars, i wonder how much he has spent there sef.

Ok well, my boy dropped the 411 on some tiddie joint named Mardi Gras off of Highway 285. we yarn small as per wkend moves and sturves, i quickly discharge am, we go yarn lata. After getting lost for like 10mins, we finally found the spot.

I saw a big grin across dough boy's face, the thing don dey shack am. He got me cracking up mehn. I no go lie, the thing begin shack me sef. I'd never been to a strip club up until that time, well minus this one time back in college when we went for the annual black engineering conference in baltimore. We actually just stumbled into it as it wasnt our original plan in the first place. lol..I just remembered something sha...that was a hell of a night. Funny sturves mehn...i'll save it for another time.

The second time i stepped into a tiddie bar was back when i used to live in NYC. I went there looking for a DJ gigg, so technically this was my first time.

As we stepped inside, my heart was going gboogoom! gboogoom! gboogoom! (beating faster than usual) Big boy like me, i still was a bit apprehensive. I had goose bumps all over. I tried to play it off though. If Dough-boy senses the slightest tension, yawa fit gas me all the way back to NYC. Nah so i just bone face like big boy. No stalling!

Of course we first had to pay and show IDs and sturves before we were allowed into the main room. Nah so dough boy begin dey jogg around the cashier counter like say im dey ready to substitute for soccer match. hahahaha! i laughed so hard, my stomach began to hurt on the side. "God help you if your white bosses are also hanging out here tonite.." i thought. Even the cashier babe burst a laff

Cashier: your friend must be really excited..

Me: Yeh! He just came from africa, Fresh off the boat. This is his first time in America. lmao..

DoughBoy: hahaha!..your fada!...nah me bring you come lagos..buahaahaha!...

Cashier: Really!? What part of Africa?

DoughBoy: Nigeria.

Cashier: Really? i have a Friend that's Nigerian too...

Doughboy: Awesome! You're looking really nice tonight. Do the girls in there look as good as you cos if not, i think i'd rather hang around here with you all night.

Cashier:[chuckling...]

DoughBoy: Hey i come to atlanta every once in a while. I should call you up when next i come around...

Cashier: [sure! quickly scribbles her 411 on a tiny sheet, and even asks doughBoy to ring her up some time and wishes us a good time...]

See! i told you the guy always dey lucky with babes.

Anyways, we marched down this small hallway towards the main room where it all goes down and the first thing i immediately noticed straight ahead was this "tired looking" white chic hanging off a pole. She appeared to be a bit older than i'd expected and did'nt seem to be having much fun.

The room was full of excitement, music pumping loud, butt naked babes running around and seemingly in a hurry. one even hit me in the left eye with her right tiddie as she was running upstairs to the VIP section. These babes are hustlers Mehn. Guys dey relax dey get lapdance, some dey even spray money on top stage. So this is where people come spend their pay check. My friend was jumping up and down with excitement. "Oh boy chill out mehn. You're gonna make them start looking at us like JJCs" i uttered.

Anyways, me i ordered a Long island ice tea to calm my nerves down. Dough boy ordered orange juice. daaa hell?! Apparently he had gotten enough alcohol at dinner with his co-workers earlier that night.

We come begin dey survey left and right. we saw one old rich looking white dude gettin a lapdance in the corner and the kele was rubbin her breasts all up his face. Dough boy almost went kolomental, his teeth clenched. The dude is hiliarious..

Anyways we were just chilling, catching up on life as this fine dark skinned akata babe walks up to us looking all sexy and bootylicous

Akata Babe: [in a flirty tone] Hey guys, w'sup? would you like a lap dance?
Dough Boy: [gently holds her by the hand] damn! you're so fine
Akata Babe: Thank You..[turns her back side and starts to wind slow]

Mehn the babe surely knew how to work it. The DJ played a fast bootie record and if you saw the way she was dropping it and bringing it back up, hmmm! it was wonderful to say the least. After teasing us for like 10 minutes or so, next thing i know, the babe turn around and begin dey slam her luscious breasts across dough boy's face.

"Ojigbijigbi!"

At that point, Dough boy had to be in cloud 9 mehn. The idiot looked at me and started cracking up like a small boy. Daaa hell? how you goin have tiddies all up your face and you're laughing instead of focusing? I no understand. Omo as for me sha, this kind thing nah serious matter. The way i will palm those lovely breasts ehn! hmmm! nah she go begin pay me money for my service sef. Keep in mind this babe is butt ass naked. chei! God has gotta be the best Artist.

she looked at me and decides to slide over to my side of the sofa as i managed a smile. Mehn i didnt even know how to react..all that talkin i did earlier was just shakara lol..she sat on my laps and let me tell you - her bom bom was as soft as dunlop.

I think it was from Kenny G i heard you're usually not allowed to touch strippers, just look. I was'nt sure as i kept hesistating. I no wan chop slap or even worse make the bouncer come rough handle me for acting a fool, so i just jejely maintain dey savor the babe.

She struck a conversation with us...no long thing. The only thing i remember was that she was from california. Anyways so i guess dough boy wanted to take it to the next level with the babe. She told him the private room was $150 cash for 30mins. Dang! this people dey make good money o. Dough boy only had $100 cash on him, and i could tell he so wanted to see what that private room was like. I chipped in $30, that was my last card too.

All dough boy now needed to earn him a trip to the fantasy world was ordinary $20. That was perhaps the hardest $20 ever cos dough boy just all of a sudden begin ransack the entire club looking for ATM machine.

Sadly enuff there was none available (how odd). Buahahahaha! Tough luck mehn! I should'nt even be laughing, dough boy nah my guy but the look on his face was just priceless. Poor guy. He obviously wasnt too pleased with the club as he started going on about how the club sucked. I thought that was hilarious sha, considering this was the same dough boy that was shining his teeth and praising the club just 30mins ago when the girl was rubbing her breasts on his face. I guess the unavailability of ATM machine can make your day go from great to worse. yeye guy. i just kia kia collect my 30 bucks before i forget.

We've been there for about 3hrs now and it was almost 1:30am, plus I had to work the next day. It's been a fun night. I signaled the valet parking dude and he quickly pulls up my ride. I still had to drop doughboy off at his hotel.

After getting lost for quite a bit, we finally located doughboy's hotel. We jisted some more and finally i gave him a pound as i said my goodbye. Doughboy is a Chemical Engineer and gets to travel alot. He'll be back again sometime with his complete $150 in cash.

The drive home was only about 15 mins. I was feeling sleepy and still a lil tipsy but i was alert for sure. I switched my satellite radio to a Techno station to help keep me awake and i tried not to speed since that would be like rubbing honey all over myself to attract bees. The cops around here are a bit uptight.

As i was cruising down Jimmy Carter Blvd (a mere 5 mins from home), i quickly noticed a familiar blue head light tailing me. That light makes me nervous man. Damn! i'm in big trouble today. I quickly parked in a corner, slipped on my seat belt and turned down the radio...

Officer: How you doing today?
Me: Fine Officer
Officer: where are you headed and where are you coming from sir?
Me: Home officer. I just dropped off a friend of mine a minute ago sir..
Officer: Yeah i noticed you were tailgating back there..have you been drinking tonite?

Me: No sir, i was just a lil tired and wanted to get home to get some good sleep. i didnt realize i was tailgating sir... [a grin across my face]

Officer: Alright may i take a quick look at your driver's license?
Me: Sure officer.

I calmly hand him my particulars, and he proceeds to run a check.

luckily for me, my license is spot free, but you still never know. he might ask me to step off the car and walk a straight line. Yawa fit gas me if it reach that level. No shaking sha! i just maintain for my car and prepared mentally for possible drama.

A minute must have barely gone by as i noticed an approaching car in the opposite side of the road without its headlights on. hahaha! I thought to myself "nah who be this useless person with no lights on for middle of the night..". He's lucky the officer is occupied with me sha...

All of a sudden, the office starts to sprint towards my car as his radio kept going off. I almost near had an heart attack within those 3 seconds. What daa hell is going on? Am i wanted for a crime or something? is he gonna start shooting?...
Mehn i aint goin lie, that shit got me stressing. See as i dey sweat for inside cool weather.

Mehn us Naija people too dey fear sha lol..I think some shit just happened around that area and the officer needed to go check it out, or perhaps it was that person with no headlights on. Whatever it was, the officer was in a hurry to discharge me. He quickly handed me my particulars as he managed a few words "Drive Safe Sir". He dashed back towards his patrol car.

Pheeew! that was close. I began thanking baba God as i started my engine and faded slowly into the night.

Friday, May 4, 2007

More Time Pls...

I'll be back soon guys, work kicking by butt right now. Your boy no even get enuff personal time sef as i had to skip gym today to get more work done. I just got done, but now i have to hit the sack early cos of 8:30 company meetng tomorrow..E no easy mehn. Anyways, i got some gist for you guys but not tonite. I cant afford to miss tomorrow's meeting. I'm still working for Roger.

As a consolation, i found this funny video on youtube that i thought some of you might find funny. Anyways, enjoy! Your boy will be back soon.


Thursday, May 3, 2007

Don't Take My Nice-ness For Weakness

It's been another busy week as usual, I've been studying my ass off lately learning new technologies and revising old sturves. In the software industry, you almost have to be a swiss army in order to remain competitive and in demand. My goal is to increase my earning potential and be making close to $100k or more by age 30. I got more than enough time to acheive that.

With all these new technologies coming out almost everyday, you can quickly get outdated. This naija boy got his game face on, no slacking for here mehn.

I got a lil aggravated last night. I borrowed a female friend $800, under her promise to repay back by april 1st. Ok so April don come and go, i no hear anything from this kele. So anyways, i decided to text her.

Your Boy: w'sup girl? Abeg how far with the dough?
Kele: I don't have it. I'll get it to you whenever i have it.
Your Boy: ok can you at least specify a date. Next yr? next 100 yrs maybe? next wkend or whatever. just give a ballpark...

Kele: I'll give you whenever i got it. No insults pls...

ooooooooh! dat last line make my head begin dey smoke sha..i'm like daaa hell! how the did i just insult you? I called to clear any misconception, nah so she no gree pick up phone.

Anyways to cut the long story short, i sent her a text requesting her to pick up the phone so we could yarn as adults as per when she thinks she would be able to settle me. I was even gonna cut her a deal to fashee the money and just cook me a pot of jollof rice and soup cos i understand she's still going to school, working part time and all, things can get tight.

99% of people that have dealt with me will likely describe me as cool and easy to get along with. I cant bear to watch people suffer, i'll sometimes go out of my way to help. if i have to completely overdraw my bank accounts to cover your ass, or soak garri temporarily so that you too can have some dough to at least soak garri, trust me i will. I full ground like dat. I don't regret being this way at all. It's good to be good. God rewards me ten fold.

Ok so back to the lil drama, this chic still no gree pick up fone. I must have called like 50 times, my neck and ear even began to strain. Meanwhile we were exchanging text messages in btw her ignoring my calls, so i no understand why she couldnt just spare me 30secs. Mehn! if you saw the way smoke was coming out from my nose and ears, you would quickly know there was fire buring inside me. It was'nt even the money that got me stressing, i can afford to let it go, I Thank God. It was the fact that this kele had the liver to ignore my calls and to show you how lame this chic was, she even sent me a text talking about she heard a lot of sturves about me, blah blah blah...

See me see trouble. Keep in mind this is a chic that is sposed to be my friend o. Secondly, i just moved to Georgia and hardly anyone knows my business like dat. All my padi padis are in NY. Other than me Djing at naija parries, and shining teeth with aquaintancies i meet along the way, Really no one knows me enuff to have access to legit 411 on me. Pata Pata (At most), they may know i'm a software engineer by profession (perhaps via myspace, facebook etc), that i roll in a black coupe, that i moved here from NY, or that my real name is Deji, but still.

I dont have no baby momas, don't do drugs, not a 419'er/yahoo yahoo boy, not a player, neither do i go around toasting every babe at every party. Besides, you prolly won't see me at that naija party if i'm not on the 1s and 2s spinning gbedu (music). I'm just not conspicuous like that. I'm really low key.

As a down to earth naija boy, omo i like to mingle tho, i go out and catch my fun, but still i dont air my bizness like that. so as you can see, if you're not rolling with the CIA, FBI, NSA, or part of my padi padis (inner circle) that i've long known from waaaay back, it can be pretty damn near impossible to get any meaningful scoop on me. Any info about me from sources other than me or those listed above is mere speculation and you ought to ask for a refund for the amount of time and resources you spent while acquiring those false gists.

I told the girl to go back and tell those rumor mongers to go eat a dick with AIDS on the tip. Like denzel washington "King Kong got nothing on me".

That been said, the girl does knows me just a tiny bit. It's a rather interesting story and no! it's probly not what u're thinking..Yeeh suuure...hahaha! Abeg clear your dirty mind jare. you're outta luck guys. maybe i'll write a blog about it sometime, but if i do, i'll be sure to disguise it well well.

I told her she ought to be ashamed of herself cos i thought she had my back like i did hers. Surprisingly i got no response. She likes to have the last word, her mouth is sharp like that. By the way this is not a 23, 24 y/o chic i'm talking about o..this nah really mature woman, but again i'm keeping it anonymous.

Anyways sha despite all the drama, i still handled it in a respectful manner. Why i go dey yab woman over ordinary $800. If it was a dude trying to dribble me like that, omo i woulda been there sharp sharp to obtain my dough one way or the other, maybe even tow ol boy's car or sumtin. I shakara the girl small tho, told her i was coming to tow her car to my garage lol... I'm not a bad person jare, i was just mad at that time but i'm fine now. Notin do me.

So kids, what have you learnt today? Never borrow a friend money that you cannot let go because when it comes time to collect, you risk making an enemy. who needs enemies?

I must get a haircut today today, i look like a caveman with all this bear bear and koko waves. I can't even track down my hairline sef. I already warned my naija barber to get ready for me sha. i'm too fine to be looking this rugged hahaha!.. Celebrity Lomor.

My Personal barber - Correct guy, his name is barile. Original naija boy. Mehn the guy is good at what he does. In fact, i think he's the best amongst all the other akata barbers, judging by his average number of waiting customers on any given day. I don't even go there on fridays no more cos the guy always getting bombarded. The barber shop is always fun. it's a good place to catch up on latest gists on who got locked down for 419, who's baby moma slashed who's tires, parties, the industry, drama and random sturves in general.

I set my house warming parry for May 27. Parry at my house ya'll! lol...

It's the sunday before memorial day wkend so people can come catch some fun at my crib and not worry about work the next day. well at least most people.

I sent out my first mortgage payment today. Mehn! as i was writing the cheque, i was thinking "dayuum! i'm gonna be writing out this amount every month.." I guess it's because i have'nt yet gotten used to paying a bill that large. My mortgage is almost double what i used to pay at my old apartment. I guess i'm grown now, responsibility is a bitch lol..i can now see how much responsibility our parents had back then when we were much younger. They had to pay rent, send us to school, buy us uniforms, put food on the table, etc..God bless them for real. You should give your moma and pop a kiss on the cheek everyday for holding you down for all those yrs your ass depended on them.

No shaking though. I go dey ok. God Dey!. In all, it still feels good though, Owning up to myself and for whomever i'm responsible.

Omo, it's lunch time sha. I don't even feel hungry at all, but i need to put on at least 5 lbs by force this summer. I think i'm gonna grab me some rice and chicken. see you in a bit.

Friday, April 27, 2007

God Dey!

Hello blogheads, long time. how una dey? hope sey your body dey kampe. As for me, I've been extremely busy mehn. Work, just finished moving, Side DJ'ing Bizness,and everyday stress, plus i got this new boss @ work i'm trying to impress cos my old boss victor got let go.

victor and I were Paddy paddys, hence i used to be able to get away with a lot of sturves i.e browsing on naijaryders.com, ESPN, taking long ass lunch breaks and and sturves. Despite all this, i still manage to finish my assigned tasks on time, and he was cool with it.

Although victor was an all round cool dude and knew how to manage a team, he wasnt as technically sound as the rest of the team. You have to be on top of your game working for a software company like mines. Luckily he was able to secure a managerial position at another software company very close by as a team lead. He emailed me and invited me to lunch sometime.

I'm still scoping my new boss. The guy sharp mehn, sneaky morrasucka. He's pretty good at sneaking up behind you. I remember this one time i was browsing on naijaryders (obviously not a work related site like microsoft.com, google.com or some other research related site) and i happened to be viewing the main page looking for interesting threads to read (morning threads are fun). Like willie Willie, nah so this bobo take sneak up on me sha.

"what you up to today mike?"

Fuck!

The Page was right there, it would be stupid to try to minimize that shit.

Me: "Uhm i'm planning on working on that vista task on the board with plenty hours on it, i need to see how it handles SQL Server Installs and upgrades..., might actually take me the whole week..."

lol..I just take style come up with some random "task of the day", remembering to keep constant eye contact, in the hopes of keeping his eyes glued on me instead of the monitor.
Devil get small power o, can you believe there was actually a thread on there that had the word "Sex" as part of the title. Luckily he did'nt seem to notice too much as he walked away to bother another team member.

I need to master all those keyboard shortcut key so i can quickly switch between windows without fiddling with the mouse as he approachs my desk. I need this job Mehn until hopefully i too become a boss. I got mouths to feed.

I just finished moving and i've been spending money like crazy to furnish the house. Can you believe common window blinds alone cost me $300. I just dropped $1700 for sofa and love seat the other day. All man still need to buy bed in case babes want the koko (the sofa is strictly for decor and is off limits until further notice), matching center carpet, little contemporary decors here and there, and i would also like to get my flat screen mounted. All man don run down right now and Pepper no too rest until next wk. God dey!

Feel free to send me donations if your pocket long. I will send you postcards of the house every month so you can see the result of your goodwill.

I called naija on wednesday, it was my sister's 18th birthday. In between convo, i asked my momsy what she taught about the election results - yaradua as our next leader. My momsy's response was short and it really hit home. "Nigeria's savior has not been born, who wants to die?". Essentially, what she was getting at is that naija's current leaders are still corrupt and useless, judging from the way the election was handled. Nobody has the balls to challenge power, lest they get annihilated. God dey!

Speaking of my sister, mehn the girl dey try o. She just finished her 200 levels and now they are on break. At her current pace, she should graduate from UNILAG at age 19. At 19, your boy just dey start college all over again for yankee. Not surprising sha, she's always been the top of the class, her lowest position ever was 3rd. I think she kinda took a lil break and goofed off, e no easy. She makes me proud mehn, i can't wait for her to cross over after LAG.

I'm not sure really why i cherish my baby sister more than the average love that siblings typically have amongst them. Maybe it's just natural, she's my sister nau, or perhaps i appreciate her even more, given she narrowly escaped death despite being under my watch.

*eyes tearing up a little*

One day, I went to pick her up from school as usual. she was still in primary four or five i think. There was this other kid i use to pick up too cos usually their driver would come pick up the kid and my sister. They lived down from our street, so it was convenient. However the driver was'nt always available to go pick them up, in that case i would go scoop em up.

we always had to cross this busy road(Agboju bustop in festac Town. sister went to nazareth) to get to the other side in order to catch the bus and usually i would watch to make sure the road was clear and then wave them across. There really was no need to be clenching on their wrists. They were kids and it was fun for them to run freely across the road as long as it was clear.

Anyways on this fateful day, we were about to cross and for some really weird reason, i saw a car appraoching and it seemed so far away, i was confident at least at that moment there was enough time to cross safely. I waved them off. The other kid being a boy, quickly sprinted across safely, my baby sister followed. Mehn it was the worse decision of my life.

*fighting back tears, manhood at risk*

As soon as my sister followed, i knew immediately i had misjudged the safeness of the situation. I screamed as if pleading she retreat, but she was too far across already. There was nothing i could do but watch in despair. The car knocked her over to the side of the road. Time appeared to stand still, quietness fill the entire surrounding for a second or so as i stood in shock.

Reality set in, this was not a bad dream afterall. my baby sister just got hit. people began screaming, running towards her. I ran across as fast as i could, scared as hell. I'm praying to God, "Shola please get up, not like this..please get up..". Mehn i've never felt more crappier in my twenty something yrs than how i felt that afternoon.

All of a sudden, she gets up looking dazed. Amazingly she ended up with a huge gash on her hand - around the thumb area. she actually barely cleared the road as the car slightly brushed her on the side. I held her as she stared at me in disbelief as if to say "you waved us clear...". I couldnt stop begging "I'm sorry", as i repeatedly checked her out for bruises.

Nearby sympathizers quickly arranged a car to take her to the hospital. she got it stitched. We never talk about it, but the memory lingers.

I thank God for preserving her life, plus keeping her in absolute perfect condition because she is such a super dupa awesome great jolly lovable person. I dont know how i would have lived if things had turned out worse. You know how they say you never know what you have until is taken or almost taken from you. I wouldnt be able to live in peace mehn. No way!

I wont even bother gisting you how so pissed off my momsy was lol..she almost ripped my head off. I would be pissed off too, plus she's the only girl. It was wholly my fault.

Anyways, it's fridaay baby! all man broke small, but the devil is a lier. i still go flenjure tonite. I heard stories about this 25 and up club and how plenty babes with high mileage dey come there to find potential husband. haha! them never hala. As an eligible bachelor with smooth flows, some of those chics might wanna holla. hahaha!

Mehn i love my crib no be small, i'm still hooknig it up and i'll post photos when i'm done. Suya and Guinness tonite fo sho, it's been a real busy week. Notin do me, Notin do you. It's almost 5, the office don empty sef. White boys no dey take friday play o. Me sef dey bounce in a bit. Have a safe one.

Sunday, April 22, 2007

I'm Still Moving...

Ok so i'm still moving sturves from my apt to my crib and i have to wait here till 5 for my dish hookup. i remembered i had already scheduled comcast for their highspeed internet which is now gonna cost me $60/month - up from the regular $42. I suppose it's their way of punishing me for dropping their cable TV service. Half of it is crap anyways; c-span,bravo etc...

Out of curiousity, I pulled out my lappy to see if perhaps any free wireless signal was floating around, and Viola! i found a handful. In fact i'm communicating with ya'll courtesy of free internet. Haha! i'm axing comcast completely now. My way of sticking to the man.

Julius Agwu (One of Naija's Top Comedian) did his thing last friday at the "Crack your Ribs" comedy show. Hardly anyone was safe from his yabs. I was on stage with him cos i was the DJ so obviously i was an easy target. The guy finish my life with yabs mehn..called me an APE and asked how i take get visa enter yankee lol.. it was a fun night mehn. Big ups to julius.

I love my new place - but it would be nice if more black folks moved in and backed me up cos all i'm seeing is chinkos and yellow pple...ok i got a shitload of blinds to put up...Hope the household from which i'm currently tapping the free signal dont soji
How was church today?

Thursday, April 19, 2007

A Stalker Hot On My Trail

I almost fainted this morning - my car was not in the usual spot i normally park it. It took me a good 5 seconds to realize it was'nt there because i had parked it in a rather obscure location the night before due to the unavailability of preferred parking spots.

Pheeew! i can breathe again. Just the other day my friend's car was stolen from her apartment complex. She found it a few days later. The seats, stereo, and every valuable piece of hardware already gone. Poor girl. Had that been me, the way i'd be rolling on the floor screaming, you'd immediately know i was a Naija guy. No be small thing.

Somebody keeps sending me wierd text messages and each time i call that number, i get a voicemail that sounds something like a female in her early 20s's. My own don betta! i got a female stalker now. I guess i'm a Rockstar. The first few text messages exchanged between us went something like this;

unID'd Female Stalker: Do you Eat Ass?
Me: da heeell..! Who is this?
unID'd Female Stalker: Just answer the question

lol..I was at my dentist at that moment and she was all up in my grill, so i decided to chill until my appt was over. Soon as i got done, i called the # but she did'nt pick up. At least now I know she's a female. These groupies have no manners...

Me: Do you suck dick?
unID'd Female Stalker: [No Response]

Of course she wont respond nau. I called and left her a message not to text me any further if she was'nt gonna pick up her phone. I didnt hear from her for another week.

A week later she calls my phone, but it was like 2:30 early mo-mo. This kele no dey sleep ni? I had already forgotten the phone # sef, but when i called to say "hey someone called this number earlier and i'm trying to fnd out who it was...", i hear that familiar voicemail. See me see trouble o!. E bi like say this kele wan do, but me i no get time for all this hide and seek na. This naija guy has no time for games.

This morning (around 2am again) i got a text - "Jimmy got soul. Queens Finest". Wairra-miiinute! I just DJ'ed a naija parry at a club named Queens this past wkend. Whaaat daa %#$*...

Tuesday, April 17, 2007

"I'm a Danfo Driver..."


Danfo Driver, feat. Mad Melon and Mountain Black. A conscious tune popular among University students and still one of my favorite naija tracks of all time.

No not me! Mountain Black and Mad Melon. Although chances are that i too might have become one if i stayed back home as i continued to struggle just like thousands others, for an opportunity to attend higher learning.

It's very tough nowadays for the average secondary school graduate to attend higher learning. Another cause and effect of poor leadership and corruption in my country.

I come from a country where scoring high on your Standard Exams, including meeting requirements of your preferred university still does not guarantee you admission. In my country, you either had major bucks to bribe your way in, or you got the right connections, else nothin for you.

I admit, i too bribed my way into Lagos State University's Pre Degree Program (A One yr Pre Matriculation Program offered by universities in which real admission is promised upon successful completion of the program. however i bet if you bombed the program, you still could bribe your way in) in '98. I successfully completed the program of course. I was on the plane to New York City shortly after that.

"A benefit finds its only measure in the worth of those who have received it."

In the 1960’s ‘70’s and up to mid 80’s the five premier universities, Ahmadu Bello university, University of Ibadan, University of Ife, University of Lagos, and University of Nsukka were centers of academic excellence. There were few universities and many students to be admitted and competition was very fierce but healthy. Even then, many students with grade II found it difficult to gain admission because there were so many excellent students to pick from.

Nigerian government influenced the admission standards by establishing the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB, introducing Federal character, catchment areas, e.t.c but without monitoring the standard. Prospective university students that needed admission simply got letters from the head of state, a governor, or a Minister in order to gain admission.

A beautiful young lady was once quoted to have said that "I just want to get admission to the university because once I am in I know what to do to graduate, I don’t mean hard work." Now history is judging the prudence of government, students, lecturers and parents.

Yet Another Massacre on Campus


Face of a Kiler:Police identify College Gun man as 23 yr old Korean

History was made yesterday as the deadliest Shooting Rampage in Modern US history took place on Virginia Tech's Campus. 23 year old Cho Seung-Hui, a Senior and English Major took the lives of 32 of his fellow hokies, injured another two dozens before taking his own life.

While we struggle to come to terms with this tragedy, one can't help but ask questions. What was the motive behind the slayings? why did'nt campus safety authorities lock down the campus after the earlier shooting incidence of 2 students around 7.15 in the morning? Why did school Authorities wait 2 hours before sending warning emails to students?



I was watching an online MSNBC news coverage of the incident and came across several video clips detailing the massacre. One of them included a mobile phone video recording vividly showing the shooting as it happened. A gruesome reality, One could clearly hear the shots as they were being fired.

Another video was a story of Ryan Clark, fondly known by his peers as "Stark". Clark's story had me fighting back tears as i read how he lost his own life while he went to the aid of a resident in his dorm who had been confronted by her boyfriend. The boyfriend shot both of them. Clark was a Resident Advisor at a dormnitory where the gunman opened fire. He was described as a really funny guy that liked to mess around. “He loved his residents. He would do anything for them - any hour of the day or night,” a friend added. “It made so much sense that he would go to help the girl.”

Clark, an aspiring phychologist who had a triple major along with 4.0 GPA, was a member of the school's band.

I am sorry for the 32 families and countless friends and relatives grieving as i write. It's surreal. There's a lot of hurt, a lot of questions, a lot of anger.

This tragic event will perhaps spark another debate between law makers on gun control and constitutional rights. Will we be safer from this type of incident if we had rights to carry firearms and protect ourselves from lunatics like the gunman? or perhaps will this cause an increase in slayings due to the easy access to guns.

To our lost ones - May Your Souls Rest in Peace. Amen.

Monday, April 16, 2007

The Rundown

hehe! once again i'm late. Perhaps i should move to Mars. I could use that extra 37 minutes.. So how are you? as for me i had a long wkend. There was this naija party i had to DJ on friday, which btw was still fairly packed at 5am. Atlanta people like to do Faaji (Party). Saturday was for errands, and then on sunday i went to my friend Bukky's house to lounge and watch naija movies with her, plus she gave me plenty naija food (moi moi, fried rice, Jollof, delicious Spaghetti,Stew with Shaki, etc..) to take home with me. haha! you jealous huh? well i don't have it like that, she's just a really thoughtful girl. We both attended Government college ikorodu back in Naija. I graduated in '97, she finished in '98. We crossed path again in yankee around '05. This time thru a good friend of mines owolabi that also happened to attend the same secondary school. You're probably thinking - "..small world..". Well heck yeh it is!. You better be good to people as you pass thru this world cos you just never know. Karma is not the only reason to be good my friend. It's good to be good to others. i know your momma told you this while growing up so we're not gonna waste key strokes on that today.

Speaking of women, i'm still trying to figure out what about a woman attracts me the most. Every guy likes a nice looking babe (whatever your definition of nice looking). I've met women so fine, just getting her phone # alone makes me wanna do backflips talkless of hanging with her. BTW I don't know how to do backflips. Under my correct senses, I would be scared for fear of breaking my neck, but one time i actually did a full backflip in a parking lot after obtaining this girl's number. The very same # for which many guys tried and failed that night lol..

Ok so i get the number, the babe starts to scatter my head, we get to hang out, i'm on the phone with her and my mumsy beeps on the other line and i dont switch over to even just say "hey mom how are you? can i call you back later?", i dey fashee my homeboys to hang with her and sturve..then what? well as it turns out after a while, perhaps 3-6 months down the line after hanging fulltime with the babe and getting to know her really well, i realize - perhaps it wasnt love at first sight after all. More like Lust at first sight.

As i meet women along the way and get to interact, i get a better understanding of the things that matter most to me in order to be able to sustain a healthy relationship with that woman. would i choose a sexy babe with a knockout body but with unattractive characters over an average looking babe with good morals, knows to cook delicious food that makes me come running home like i need to catch a game on TV? The type we refer to as "Wifey Material".

I once met this really good looking naija girl and we got to know each other. I aint goin lie - i pictured a possibility of her being my wifey someday. However she was the sturborn bonehead type, it was her way or the highway. She could run her mouth, arguing her point till tomorrow. For example if i said "oh this person can sing" or "person X always dresses nice" she'll be like "uuhm i dont think so" even if everyone and including you will clearly agree with me. she was just too much, i had to downgrade her from VIP status to coach mehn!. Imagine marrying someone like that. She could be a major pain in the ass, maybe even end up in divorce. who needs that extra stress with everything that's going on today. Now when we talk over the phone and she asks if i wanna hangout and i reply "no", she'll be like "You know you want me.." lmao! I just laff, Omo, levels don change. This is probabally beginning to sound personal, but it's not. Really!.

Can love possibly come before lust or lust must come before love. if this was a JAMB exam question, i'd probly answer the latter. Watch out for my wifey list lol..it's really not much. but at least now you know i don't dig bonehead chics. Being Assertive and being boneheaded and mouthy are two completely different things.

Remember that my good friend owolabi i mentioned earlier? he's actually a great friend. He helped me a lot back when i was struggling to find work after graduating from college. Another friend even gave me his car to drive when i found this penny paying job as a cablevision tech support specialist in long island, NY. You need one or two friends like this to get thru life. I miss my boys tho. They're among the few things i miss from relocating from NYC to ATL. Def Blog worthy.